Ask Matt a question relating to golf rules, golf etiquette or course information :
Knocked in a ditch
My friend and I were playing the other day and I had hit my ball just short of a ditch crossing the 9th fairway. My partner hit her ball low along the ground and it struck my ball knocking it into the ditch with the bonus for her that her ball stayed short of the hazard. What should we do?
Kim, Deanwood Park GC
Kim, I would find a partner who can hit the ball in the air which would drastically reduce the likelihood of your balls colliding!!!
Your ball should be replaced without penalty and her ball is played as it lies. The only exception to this would be if both balls were on the green prior to the stroke. If you are playing strokeplay and putting from on the green and you hit another ball you incur a two stroke penalty.